Ohio Association of Public School Employees

Stronger Together.

School Safety

With school safety becoming more important every year and OAPSE members helping ensure safety is a top priority in every school district, OAPSE has formed a State Safety Committee with representatives from each OAPSE District. Committee members are listed below along with school safety resources available to all OAPSE members and Locals.

OAPSE State Safety Committee

Mike Lang, Chair

Michelle Phillips, Central District

Donte Holsey, East Central District

Bruce Millick, Eastern District

Bev Payne, North Central District

Davida Russell, Northeast District

Karen Jones, Northwest District

Heather Vermillion, Northwest Central District

Tim Warren, Southeast District

Connie McDonald, Southwest District

Angie Klein, Western District

School Safety Resources

OSSC (Ohio School Safety Center) – https://ohioschoolsafetycenter.ohio.gov 

  1. Student Resources
  2. Threat Assessment
  3. Safer Ohio School Tip Line
  4. Emergency Management Test
  5. School Safety Grants
  6. Pre-K – 12 School Safety Plans
  7. Help Center

School Safety Task Force – Attorney General’s website – https://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/State-and-Local-Government/Schools/School-Safety-Task-Force 

Safety Innovation Grants Available to Ohio Schools – https://grants.ohio.gov/fundingopportunities.aspx

School Safety Program Audits – Ohio Auditor’s website – https://ohioauditor.gov/auditsearch/Search.aspx 

Bus/Transportation Safety

Ohio’s School Bus Safety Working Group – https://publicsafety.ohio.gov/what-we-do/our-programs/ohio-traffic-safety-office-sa/school-bus-safety

OAPSE’s Transportation Safety Subcommittee Memos to Gov. DeWine and the Bus Safety Working Group